What is this feeling?

This show has jerked me around so much that after watching Monday’s episode I’m not even sure how I feel.

Let’s catalog the range of emotions I experienced:

Glee: Seeing Matt and Maxie together can only be described this way. They have such snappy energy. I was annoyed at the lame-ass reason they used to get them together when they have actual reasons to be interacting. Hello, mutual family interest! And I was glad to see that issue become part of their interaction, even if it did result in Maxie smacking Matt in the face. But hey, that is GH code for passion, right? Despite the face slapping, I’m still really hoping that Matt and Maxie get a shot. I’d take feisty Maxie over hero-worshipping  Maxie any day.

Rage: Having to listen to another version of the “Sonny is never to blame for his actions” song and dance still induces this feeling no matter how often I hear it. Sometimes Sonny is substituted with Jason, but it is the same thing over and over again. Although this time, it is coming from Claudia who has admitted to being completely damaged by being brought up in the mob and was involved in the danger to Sonny’s children. I’m sorry, but this makes absolutely no sense. Go smoke another one writers.

Relief: Maxie actually listened to Matt and started to think that just happening to fall off a dock is about as plausible as putting a baby in a tree for shelter.

Frustration: Robin continuing her denial was extremely frustrating. She saw a child that wasn’t there! Yes, Robin, you are a doctor. What would you tell a patient who was seeing things that they knew were not there? You even admitted it to Maxie! Come on!

Boredom: Blah, blah, blah. Who really shot Michael? Sonny and Jason will get revenge! It’s perfectly fine for our heroes to go around threatening to kill people because it is justice! They are the only ones on the side of goodness and light. More talk about whether the surgery should happen….will you just do it already?

Satisfaction: Matt talking with Patrick and Patrick actually listening! Woo hoo!

Kerfuzzlement: This is really the only way I can categorize how I was feeling about the final scrubs scene. I continuously flip flopped as to whether I was enjoying it or not. I wasn’t sure if I really agreed with Patrick basically forcing Robin to take the medications, but I also think this is a realistic struggle for people with mental health issues and a believable scene between these two characters.  I also experienced a strange sensation of feeling as if this story is actually moving along. I was touched at Patrick’s concern and I empathized with Robin for the first time in a long time. She was a real character again.

I still think it is too bad that they couldn’t do a PPD storyline that addressed the average symptoms women suffer from. They are basically coming out and saying that Robin is having abnormal symptoms now. The other time PPD was mentioned on this show was when Carly, you know, shot someone.  But if the writers are willing to move on with this PPD story, I will happily go along with it.

Leave a Reply

