And they say it never lasts, they were right

They say the definition of crazy is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.

By this definition I am definitely a crazy person.

I knew I shouldn’t be happy about the one good Patrick and Robin moment on Thursday. I knew that we could never get off that easy (if easy is three months of horrible writing and making characters I enjoy suck).

I mean, the not taking meds thing is an important issue with any kind of depression. But why is it that we finally get a confrontation between these characters and then the next day Robin is automatically feeling better and within that episode decides not to take her meds? Especially when this show takes forever to do anything else. Depression doesn’t go away over night, and I would be very upset if they tried to show that it did. But people do follow their treatment and work with their family. And I’m sure the show will get there eventually, and I’m sure I will not want to care at that point. No one told me that the the progression of this illness would be in real time. Especially since it occurred after the month-long day.

despair-divider

The idea that Carly might be pregnant and have to abort the baby for her own heath is a story that has dramatic potential. But I don’t want to see it. I am tired of stories that are too serious and true to life. Maybe if the show were more balanced, it would work. But when most stories are depressing, it’s hard to take anything too sad, even if it was well written. And well, we know that isn’t happening.

I wonder if anyone on the show even thinks about this? I highly doubt it. But wouldn’t some of these more serious stories be easier to take if someone — anyone — was getting some on this show? If there were even two people who wanted to be together that didn’t have a huge secret waiting to blow their relationship apart or other intentions that made them being together not feel right?

I know, I know. How could I even suggest that someone get paid to look at the entire landscape of the show and make decisions based on that? No one is interested in quality programming, just ratings! And there is no way that quality programming could equal ratings. That is just insanity!

So the only question I have now is: when is Michael going to wake up already? I keep thinking that is when something interesting will happen. A big mistake, I know. But I can’t help it. There is so much soapy potential in this story. And I hate how they got there, but I can see the end result being entertaining. Therein lies the problem. I’m already setting myself up for yet another disappointment. See, I never learn.

Leave a Reply

