This is not the post you’re looking for…

No, this isn’t this week’s installment of Fun in the Afternoon. Sorry.

Here’s the thing: watching old General Hospital clips on YouTube is like opening a bag of potato chips — you swear you’re just going to grab one, but then suddenly it’s three hours later and you’re staring at an empty bag, wiping crumbs off your chin and feeling a little sick.

Er, not that that’s ever happened to me.

Anyway, the point is it doesn’t matter if I know exactly which clip I’m looking for. Somehow, I always end up clicking on another one, and another one…and then, oh look! There’s a link to the entire Sonny and Brenda Canada adventure! Or all 26 parts of Jagger, Karen, and Jason shipwrecked on the island! And the next thing I know, it’s two o’clock in the morning and I haven’t even started writing the post yet.

All of which is to say the next installment will come next week and be posted biweekly thereafter, so as to leave a little more time for YouTube binges on our part.

despair-divider

Lest we all go into withdrawal from classic GH in the meantime, however, I leave you with some Spencer family love:

I could go on a long rant about the way present day Luke’s retconned disdain for fatherhood, family, fidelity, and his first born son is complete and utter bullshit, but I think I’ll just let the clips above speak more eloquently than I ever could.

Suck it, Guza.

2 thoughts on “This is not the post you’re looking for…

  1. God, I love that Luke remembers Lucky clip…I was thinking about it yesterday when Luke told Lucky that dumbass might be his brother with the least tact of anyone in the history of the world and then acted surprised that Lucky would be upset that it would mean Luke had cheated on his mother…complete and utter grossness…and the fact that he might end up not being Luke’s son is almost worse because then they’ve trashed the history between Luke and Laura for what? suspense? diversion from the truth? Ugh. Hate. Hate. HATE.

    • I know, I wrote this post before I watched yesterday’s episode. If anything, it made me even more angry. What is the point of this story? I thought it was bad enough when they were trying to make it seem like Luke and Holly had cheated on Robert and Laura back in the 80s — now we’re supposed to believe he was unfaithful to Laura as recently as the mid-90s? The FUCK?

      And his reaction to Lucky’s justified anger yesterday was just…awful. AWFUL. I cannot understand what they’re going for here, unless it’s to make me like Lucky, something I never really have before. But now I’m so on his side because of Luke’s assholishness… If that’s what they wanted, then it’s working. But way to destroy one of the show’s most important legacies in the process.

Leave a Reply

