Prescription: NEEDS MORE MADCAP

Okay, let’s talk about this image, because I kind of love it. Don’t they look like they’re having fun? Planning a jailbreak, perhaps? Not a serious care in the world?

Dare I say it, like they’re off on some madcap adventure, of the type at which this show used to excel?

(Most likely somewhere down Mexico way, because all zany, madcap adventures happen in Mexico, and because Mexico — as you know if you’ve been taught geography solely by this show, in which case GOD HELP YOU — is about an hour away from upstate New York, along with every island in the Caribbean, most of South America, Martha’s Vinyard, Paris, and LA.)

But I digress.

The point is that this picture makes me LONG for a day when Dante and Lulu can extricate their unspeakable adorableness from the quagmire of Sonny-related trial nonsense and go have a light-hearted, old-fashioned romp involving foreign jail cells, silly disguises, over the top villains, wacky shenanigans, and possibly some nuns. NUNS AND SHENANIGANS, I SAY.

Is that too much to ask?

Also, am I completely crazy, or has the build up to Lulu’s abortion revelation actually been kind of soapy? And… good? I mean, for once, a secret from the past is being brought up in a believable and relevant way. And Julie Marie Berman’s infused Lulu with a subtle hurt that’s just really appealing.

I’m sure I’ll be ruefully shaking my head at this post in a few days, after the show’s handled the reveal with its typical sensitivity to women’s issues (meaning Dante’s all but implied she’s a baby-killing whore). But still, for the moment? I’m honestly looking forward to it.

Which just goes to show that I am an idiot and a glutton for punishment and probably deserve all the misery I have coming.

6 thoughts on “Prescription: NEEDS MORE MADCAP

  1. They are definitely the bright spot in this show. Adventure you say? As long as they can keep on being so awesome I don’t care where they are. :D

  2. Could not agree more – I’d watch a week’s worth of episodes. For some reason the story of this couple has got me hook, line and sinker. I find myself smiling when they are onscreen, instead of muttering, shaking my head and stammering to myself, “Why am I watching this show again?”
    Perhaps I’m going crazy in my old age.
    I just dread the day the writers will mess it all up.

    • What — you mean couples who treat each other with affection and respect, and whose relationship we’ve seen develop slowly and naturally over a period of many months are actually fun to watch? That IS crazy talk.

  3. As much as I want to believe there is something good about this show right now I just cant let myself watch it. It has been 3 blissful weeks since I have laid eyes on Sonny, Jason, or Carly. I gotta admit I dont miss it. I’ve taken breaks before but I always missed GH, but nope not this time. Maybe one day Guza will stop treating the mob gang as the best thing since sliced bread but until that happens i’m out. However I will still read your totally awesome posts!

    • Oh, Mendie, I envy your escape. I’ve been thinking about just deleting my TiVo subscription a lot lately. The problem is I enjoy writing the blog more than I enjoy actually watching the show at the moment.

      Stay strong, don’t give in and come back! You’ll be happier for it, I’m certain!

Leave a Reply

