A Sad Day for Daytime Soaps

I’ve been on maternity leave for the last 6 weeks and during this time — like all other times in my life when I’ve been home during the day — I’ve taken up watching all three ABC soaps instead of just GH. This fact has made the news that All My Children and One Life to Live are canceled even more shocking to me.

We here at Despair in the Afternoon obviously have a history of watching General Hospital, but we recognize that the canceling of these two soaps is a huge hit for daytime television. And even though we constantly complain about GH, I think I would feel a loss if it were canceled. (I know, WHAT?) I’m sure OLTL and AMC have fans who truly enjoy the show and will be shocked and saddened by this news.

It also seems to send a really devastating message if GH is the kind of programming that ABC has decided to keep. (Again, WHAT?)

Although my bet is that this is a sign of things to come and GH may not be long for this world either. Do we all really need more food and health shows instead of the opportunity to explore multi-generational family dynamics and enjoy ridiculous and yet often emotionally resonating stories? I guess the execs at ABC think so.

9 thoughts on “A Sad Day for Daytime Soaps

  1. Nikki Finche from Variety said that if the higher ups had their way all three shows would be gone and GH would have been gone this April.

  2. Here we go with another show cancelled. It seems that all the good shows end and another stupid one comes along. I just can’t believe that these soap operas would ever be cancelled. They seem to really connect to the people. I think that the older shows are so much better then this stupid new ones.

  3. I’d like to say that I’m 19 and I’ve been watching One Life to Live since I was in my mother’s womb. I’m so sad about this and, I will not be watching whatever it is they plan on replacing the show with.. I found a petition online, perhaps if we spread the word and rally together we may be able to save OLTL. It’s worth a shot!

    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/save-one-life-to-live/

  4. What`s even sader is that all the cast of AMC left moved to La for nothing not even the writing helped will that was the problem to bad writers,And One Life To Live has better writing and so better storylines will no more Messa.

  5. I am old enough and have been lucky enough to know AMC and OLTL from their very beginnings, old enough to know GH from its beginning also.

    My heart hurts today.

    • I think GH is still on the chopping block. I think AMC is going out first simply because their time slot is the first in the afternoon lineup and The Chew (seriously? is it about cud?) is ready to go. OLTL is second and The Revolting is not quite ready for full production. I’ve little doubt that Frons isn’t actively seeking the GH replacement as I’m writing this.

      I doubt that any of these replacement shows will last longer than 3 seasons, perhaps not more than a single season, but there are an awful lot of stupid shows already on the air and they are realitively cheap to produce and air. When one fails, it will be replaced with a clone.

      Stupid is as stupid does.

  6. I think ABC is making a BIIIIIIIIG mistake. They are not thinking about all of us BABY BOOMERS, who will turn off our TV’s in the afternoons (we hate reality TV) as well I think I will just watching ABC all together.

Leave a Reply

