Let the orgy of grief begin!

As befitting when a local saint dies, the entire town of Port Charles has already descended into mourning. First we’ve got Sam, in so much denial that she actually seemed to think she could find Jason alive after what had to have been at least an hour already underwater:

GRATUITOUS WETSUIT SHOT

(Although I did like that her diving history was referenced, and especially appreciated the lulz of being expected to believe the search and rescue team just happened to have a spare wetsuit on hand that would fit a four foot tall, size zero woman with enormous boobs.)

Sam’s continued assurance that Jason’s still alive somewhere is only delaying the inevitable sobfest that we all know Kelly Monaco is a champ at producing, though. Frankly, I’d rather she accept things and just get on with it. (The faster you cry it out, the fast we can get hot McBain action, Sam! Let’s get a move on, already!)

Then Carly, who naturally responded with anger and some righteous truth-telling against Sonny, as she tends to do whenever grieving. And as satisfying as it always is to hear him get called out for what a shitty friend to Jason he’s been for most of the last decade, and true as it is that Sonny will be completely screwed without Jason there to clean up his messes, I really liked that the current regime has also given Carly enough growth to almost immediately apologize for lashing out, and to reach out to him for some mutual (non-sexual!) comfort:

SONNY: [voice breaking] I loved him. More than anything. I know you loved him too. I’m really sorry we can’t help each other.
CARLY: [grabbing his hand] I’m sorry! You didn’t deserve that. It wasn’t fair. Jason knew you, and he knew what you do. And so do I and we chose you anyway. I’m sorry, so sorry. I wasn’t your fault.
SONNY: Yeah, it was.

Maurice Bernard has actually been awake for all these scenes, and the look on his face when he whispered that it was his fault (which… true) kind of killed me? Which was nice.

Not to mention they finally, finally admitted the great SASON love that dare not speak its name. Also, this:

GRATUITOUS SHOT OF MAN KISSING A BABY

I like this new thing they’re doing where I may not love Sonny but also no longer feel the intense urge to brain him with a brick every time he opens his mouth!

Meanwhile, Elizabeth dove straight into guilt and depression, and then was comforted by Spinelli — of all people — in a surprisingly lovely set of scenes in which she confessed her recent misdeeds and received further posthumous confirmation of the Holy One’s forgiveness through His mouthpiece here on Earth:

ELIZABETH: I don’t know how to live without him. He’s always been there for me, even when I didn’t deserve it.
SPINELLI: I doubt that Jason would see it that way. You were a source of great joy.
ELIZABETH: Not at the end. I hurt him. I kept him away from his family, because I wanted him to be with me. I cost him precious time with his child. Time he didn’t have.
SPINELLI: I am uncharacteristically at a loss for words.

ELIZABETH: If that’s code for you hate me, I completely understand.
SPINELLI: I could never hate you. Nor could Jason.
ELIZABETH: Is this really the first time you’re hearing this? Jason never said anything?
SPINELLI: Is that a surprise? Jason would never dream of sullying your name. Evidence of how much he deeply cared.
ELIZABETH: He deserved so much better.
SPINELLI: Forgiveness was in Jason’s nature. He could not hold it back from the people he loved. And you were most assuredly among them.
ELIZABETH: You were too.

(Seriously, “forgiveness was Jason’s nature”? Could they slather the Jesus thing on any more heavy-handedly? HE KILLED PEOPLE FOR MONEY, GUYS. I don’t think “letting bygones be bygones” was really his defining characteristic.) (Like, all those dudes in the Pine Barrens are probably wishing they could have experienced a little less of Jason’s particular brand of “forgiveness” right about now. Oh, wait, except they can’t. BECAUSE HE KILLED THEM.)

Anyway! I liked that last bit of closure on the evil!Liz plot. And will take Spinelli’s easy and instant understanding as a sign from the writers not to worry about it coming out any time soon and ruining everything forever. Also, I deeply appreciated that they had Spinelli refer to Jason without any nicknames. And he admitted he was often annoying and obnoxious! Self-awareness FTW!

But it was actually Monica — whose extensive experience with loss and actual medical knowledge of what freezing water combined with blood loss would do to a human body allowed her to speed through the other stages of grief straight into acceptance — who broke me the most:

MICHAEL: Monica? I know you lost a lot. More than anybody ever should. But just know as long as I’m here, you’re not alone.

Letting Michael be the one to break the news to her was such a lovely touch, and I’m not going to lie: his sincere distress at the sight of Monica’s obvious struggle for control of her emotions made me sniffle. Also, Chad Duell did that puppy dog thing with his face that I know drives some people nuts, but which makes me want to give him hugs and bake him cookies, and I kind of lost it?

Then, of course, we got another AJ anvil about a mile wide, and then Monica made a MYSTERIOUS PHONE CALL while looking at pictures of Sean Kanan’s AJ with 90s Jason. You guys, you guys, you guys! I AM SO EXCITED!

Wait, what’s that you say? There are other, non-Jason things happening on the canvas right now? Like Dante and Lulu learning of her infertility (that the writers wisely and blessedly made clear had NOTHING to do with her teenage abortion)?

And then Dante was — once again — pretty much the most perfect man and husband in existence, and Julie Marie Berman demonstrated that thing she does with her face where she smiles through her tears to try and make you think she’s not dying on the inside and nobody is fooled, but it’s still so good? Yeah. That happened.

(Dear writers: a story where Maxie is Dante and Lulu’s surrogate would be extremely welcome from this neck of the woods. JUST SAYING.)

Finally, presented without comment:

GRATUITOUS SHOT OF GRATUITOUSNESS

You’re welcome.

44 thoughts on “Let the orgy of grief begin!

  1. so can’t stand the thought of sam and mcbain…….

    can’t stand the thought of what was him and nat….

    so if they’re bringing on a snat fest for me….then i so won’t be watching..

    the more i see of mcbain, the more i’ll watch…but just as long as he’s not with her…..at all…

    i got so bored with the two of them when they had their run on PC…by the time that show as over….i was so happy that i didn’t have to see them anymore….now what do i get…

    sorry for the rant….but some couples, i cannot stand no matter what…..

    and that’s john mcbain with either nat or sam….

    susan

    john works well and so does ME with so many women…wish that they’d let him play the feild……over on GH like they did on one life……but then we got stuck…….but it sure was fun to watch him with blair, with vangie, with kelly….while it lasted….

  2. Gratuitous shot of gratuitousness from “the elderly” even! (Although I will say that the sight of Shawn literally made me gasp, and he normally doesn’t do that for me)

    But yes, Monica, Michael, Spinelli, and Liz all left me weeping. Shouldn’t I be celebrating this “death”?

    • yeah i really liked liz and spin too….

      yeah….i didn’t like how he always fell at his feet either….but what liz said to him, and he to her…..was pretty good, wasn’t it…

      susan

      that’s why i like spin and elle, they compliment each other so well…in alot of ways, i think that she’s just like liz…

      i’ve long grown tired of whether or not maxie wants him…..and now with felicia in her corner……oh you know that mac and i found our way back to one another, and all that…yeah low long did that take…is spin supposed to wait the next 20 years for maxie to make up her mind……and she only wants to be with him now because she doesn’t have anyone else….but he does…..so….

      i wish that’s what felicia had of pointed out to her instead of her being miss busy body and ruining his date, with elle..

      i know that this is off topic…but…

  3. I particularly liked the Liz and Spinelli scenes, just because they actually don’t get real scenes together very often, and their reactions to Jason’s death were similar, but they were suited to giving comfort to one another. You didn’t quote what Liz said to Spinelli, but it warmed my heart. Spinelli’s codependent worship of Jason is/was often groanworthy, but Liz assuring him that Jason trusted and respected him to soothe the “I’m annoying and he tolerated me” stuff was nice.

    • I know, it was maybe not an obvious choice to pair those two, but I think it worked really well. I nearly transcribed the entire conversation, but it was already too long as it was. But agreed, her responses to him were equally nice.

  4. I just cannot find John McBain sexy in any way, shape, or form. Please, RC, just let Sam be Sam for a while without throwing her into some gross McBam pukefest. I know, that’s Livvie/Caleb sacrilege, but I never watched PC, so I have no lingering nostalgia for that pairing.
    Also, haven’t seen Tuesday or Wednesday’s eps yet, so thanks for the wetsuit shot to bolster me until I can watch!

    • Re: Sam and John, I find their chemistry shockingly hot. It’s got nothing to do with PC — I wasn’t watching during their years; I just think they work really well together. She gets to do action stuff but is much less of an emotional doormat than she was with Jason. And seems more like an equal.

      But to each their own, I suppose…

    • Maybe I’ll relax about John now that Jason’s off the canvas. But really, if they’re not going to put Sam with Liz, how about Sam and Carly? The gay factor on this show needs to be bumped up with the loss of Sonny’s longtime companion/hitman.

      • SIZZLE FOREVER! If we can’t have that, my vote would be Alexis/Diane. Or hot Doctor Hotness OB/GYN and… anyone, really. Let’s say Liz! All the ladies for Liz!

        But yes, the non-straight population could definitely use some members. I was hoping Trey or Ellie would be gay. But, of course, no.

  5. I find Carly generally more watchable now, and that was true in this scene, too. She was right about Jason cleaning up his mess, and the fact that she apologize for her harsh words and comforted him was nice. The way it spread with each character sharing what happened was well done. I feel so awful for Monica, losing the only one she had left. Michael telling Monica in person was a great touch and him hugging Monica and promising he’d always have her. Awww, Michael, I love you again. Bring on more Monica/Michael bonding, please! And also the Davis girls scenes were good, love seeing Alexis and her girls all together.
    The only thing I didn’t care for was the whole praise Jason with Spinelli and Liz. “I don’t know how to live without him?” Really? “Forgiveness was his nature” Seriously?

    I’m so relieved the writers Lulu’s fertility issue with the abortion, that would be a cue for the Lulu haters to say it was justice for killing her baby, etc. Maxie be the surrogate, now there’s an idea! Also, what about the surgery Sam had? Would that be an option? Please somehow, give me a Lante baby!

    • I’m sure that, this being a soap, Dante and Lulu will be getting their baby. When was the last time you saw a soap couple with infertility that actually stuck?

      But Sam has really no existing relationship with either of them, and will presumably be plenty busy as a single mother. I’d much rather see Lulu and Maxie’s friendship explored by having her do it…

      • Let me clarify something: I meant could Lulu have the same surgery Sam had to correct her infertility, could Lulu have the same surgery?
        Good question about infertility, it never does stick Courtney had a miracle baby with Nik, Sam had surgery. Lulu will have a miracle baby, but I’d love to see Maxie be the surrogate mother for Lante.

        • Oh, sorry! I misunderstood. But to answer — again, it’s SOAPS! so anything is possible, but they made it pretty clear that this is not the same thing. Sam’s condition was the result of getting shot; Lulu’s is genetic and they said point blank there’s nothing to be done to correct it. So it doesn’t seem like they’re setting it up for an easy surgical fix.

          • Just a tought, but yes it’s soap, anything can happen. So I’ll hold out for a surrogate mother or adoption or a miracle pregnancy

  6. yeah some are saying let maxie be the surrogate…but then could she carry a baby….there is the issue of her heart to consider…and all those meds that she has to take……lol….

    yes……but i think that they’re waiting for laura to come back to make her pregs for the 50th on apirl 1….

    so…we’re going to have to wait awhile for this story to pan out…

    and also lulu never should have given baby adien her bone marrow or blood when she did….because she had a transplant herself….maybe that’s how they should writer it in..that it had something to do with her DNA….and all that…but most people that i talk to on other groups think that she can have a baby but that this doctor’s working for Helena, or Duke, or whoever the big bad is supposed to be……and this would be right up he’ls ally to change her medical records like it is…

    carly….i have never really liked her, not at all, no matter who’s played her…but you know what…..ever since laura wright’s taken over the role….i have loved and not loved her to peices…..she’s much more tollerable now….

    as far as john and sam go…..you are right….i love ME….have always loved him..but the thought of him and sam, like him and nat…make me want to puke…

    i used to speak to a woman off the group…by IM only and she felt the same way about john and nat….that i did….sadly i can’t ask her what she thinks of sam and john……but from what i could gather, she ended up being sick of them as well over on PC…so…..but, i can’t ask her…because she is no longer in the world….sadly….

    susan

    • I know that in real life, there would be complications to her heart transplant that would make being a surrogate unlikely, but let’s face it: in real life, there would be a lot of things that her heart would prevent her from doing that the show regularly ignores. So I’m okay with just ignoring it in this case, too.

  7. I totally agree with everything you said.
    And please, let’s hope we’ll get MCBAM as soon as possible! Enough with Saint-Jason, mob enforcer with heart of gold… ugh! I only liked him with Sonny :)

  8. “(that the writers wisely and blessedly made clear had NOTHING to do with her teenage abortion)?”

    That was good, but it still bugs the crap out of me because even if they said it had nothing to do with it you know there are still ignorant people who will make that connection anyway (I actually seen a comment or two to that affect, sigh. Not the writers’ fault, but that’s why I hated it in the first place, even though it was obvious what was gonna happen as soon as they started trying so hard.) Has there ever been a woman on tv who had an abortion and then went on to have a baby without a big complication? Maybe Erica Kane? And also it just bothers me that once again the woman has the medical problem. It’s never the men on tv.

    but rant aside, JMB and DZ sold the hell out of their scenes.

    Sam/KM already would have looked ueber hot in that wetsuit, but after days of being in that clunky sweater, it just amped it up to ridiculous extremes of hotness

    • Honestly, if someone is STILL ready to blame her for it after two days of dialog specifically spelling out that there’s no connection, it’s a genetic condition present from birth, and in fact the pregnancy she aborted would have miscarried anyway… their minds were already made up and I don’t give a crap about their opinions. Haters gonna hate.

      Agreed, though, that a man’s babymaker could be at fault for once. That would be refreshing.

      • Oh, that actually bothered me too, where they said she would have miscarried the baby she aborted anyway – the abortion was probably one of the best storylines Guza did in the past decade, before Lulu went on about it ad naseum, but I guess they had to make the condition consistent.

        • I guess it doesn’t bother me, because I don’t think knowing this so many years after the fact negates the power of the story or the impact that decision had on her, you know? I agree it’s not ideal, but I’m okay with it.

          Re: Maxie, they’ve ignored basically all the real world consequences for her heart, so I don’t care if they ignore this one too. Lulu/Maxie bonding + cuddles would pretty much make my world complete.

      • also, Maxie being the surrogate is kinda ridiculous to me because of her heart condition, but if it happens I would love it if they subverted the cliche and instead of the man being all flirty with the surrogate basically Lulu and Maxie cuddle up together all the time and Lulu is always putting her head on Maxie’s stomach and rubbing her and poor Dante is just standing in a corner going, WTF, heh.

  9. I watch episodes at work and boy was that a bad idea. I’m a snotty ball of mess at my desk. Hilarious. The fedex man came in the door, and was seriously concerned for me…I pretended to have a cold.

    Oh wow.. I agree with pretty much everything you’ve blogged and other posters have said. These was some powerful performances.

    I much prefer spunky Sam in denial, and in action mode than the eventual snot fest that’s coming, so I’ll take her doing her own search and rescue for a few days before she barrels out. Alexis and Molly’s stricken expressions whilst they tried to console her were so good. Kristina basically stood there and looked awkward, but luckily for her the scene called for that.

    Carly…man..I knew LW was going to bring it, but geesh. Love when she gets into awesome truth telling mode and ripped Sonny a new one, but as usual the enabler of the tortured mob boss resurfaces and she apologized; yet surprisingly Sonny accepted the blame for this one and when SB’s voice cracked I was done.

    And YES…drum roll please… THE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of the SONNY/JASON love…wow.

    Liz and Spin was a nice touch too. These writers are allowing him to mature and not be comic relief and all quirk. It was so sweet to have these two reassure one another of Jason’s fondness. (yes I know, i’m gushing over the demise of a hitman, but I chose to selectively block those important details out when watching)

    And finally, Michael and Monica. ohhh so awesome. When he rushed over and hugged her that was the absolute best. I love his puppy dog look too.

    Random YAY’s…
    AJ’s coming!!!
    non-sexual support from Sonny and Carly – ha
    Julie Berman’s tears break me too. That smile thing that you described.. That is it.
    i’m with Elle on Shawn’s “perfect pectoral’s”
    i’m enjoying the OLTL trademark overuse of shirtless men…I am..I am…

    Boo..
    Connie…good grief…hose her down..what in the world?…oh and YAY to Carly smacking the crap out of her and just basically walking away from her afterwards…very gangsta…

    • I’ve had enough Sam tears to last a lifetime, believe me. But you know they’re coming! I just want to get them over with! Heh.

      Love the Davis girls but NuKristina is still the worst.

  10. Okay, sorry one more thing.

    re: not wanting to brain Sonny with a brick. First off, HAAAAAAAA!

    And, this is so true, not waiting to physically throttle Sonny is an odd sensation, and also that much more frustrating for me because…this regime is making Sonny palatable and that also wistfully makes me think that if SBu had stayed they would have eventually wrote the Jason gets his memories back and revisits being a Quartermaine story that we the fans have been begging for for years…

    more tears…

    • I was actually thinking that when/if SBu ever came back, the story that writes itself is him having had amnesia again the whole time he was gone. And then when he eventually gets his memories back it’s ALL his memories at once.

  11. I haven’t even seen the show yet and I’m tearing up. Personally I haven’t been a Jason fan since he choose Carly over Robin. But I’m not still bitter or anything…. On a lighter note, the faster we get to some Mcbain and Sam action the better, I’m going thru withdrawal at the moment. At least a good eye-hump would suffice.

  12. When J saw that shot of Shaun he asked “Does that guy ever wear a shirt?” I was like, of course not. What good would that do?

  13. Oh, and that smile through the tears bit JMB does? I know what you mean! JMB has this ability to bring Lulu to life, even when the writing for her is crap (and we know it has been at times) she gives it her all, she doesn’t phone it in like so many have done. She brings it no matter what. I always feel what she feels, even when she has tried my patience.
    Was Duke an enemy of Sonny in classic GH? OR is this Sonny obsession just out of nowhere?

    • duke’s been gone 23 years as mentioned…

      i think that sonny came in 92……so from what we know, the two of them didn’t even know one another…

      but this is the back story since sonny’s the only mobster on right now..

      duke has mentioned julian jerome…lol..another person who’s supposed to be dead……and there was his father victor jerome….who was last seen in the water with jason…(metaphorically speaking)….lucy and alan tried to look for him……but, didn’t find dear old victor….

      also there was an olivia jerome…who wanted to be the head of the mob family but her being a woman daddy didn’t let her…and all that…

      if anyone remembers alex atanov (sp) from one life…she was who played olivia….

      susan

    • Duke was pre-Sonny. They never overlapped, and were involved with completely different mob factions. Also, Duke was NOT a bad guy and actually tried to leave the mob to protect Anna and Robin, going so far as to fake his death and go into witness protection so they’d be safe. So this is all completely out of the blue and really out of character.

      • I thought so, it’s frustrating that they write these old favourites so out of character. And all this show need is another SOnny-obsessed mobster. zzzz. Unless maybe it’s not Duke he somehow faked the finger prints or something (it’s soapdom after all).

      • agreed..and he even helped robert take down mr big…..aka the police commishioner…….bert ramsey…

        so this stupid story that they’re doing for him is nothing like what he was all about..

        all it reminds me of is rick webber…who was turned into a killer in the end……so that they could ruin a vets character…

        and that’s exactly what they’re doing to duke…

        this writer didn’t write for him back in the day, just like guza didn’t write for rick…so who the H cares…let’s go and ruin them…..because we can..

        susan

        i still say that it’s duke…or maybe a fake…but you know what..i really don’t care….for me that’s why sonny if MB ever goes off the show i won’t miss him one little bit….because 20 years of who sonny’s after, who’s after sonny is so like you said christine…..zzzzzzzzz…and then some….

        • Put me in a coma zzzz. HOW many mobsters have had in it for SOnny and failed? In just recent time it’s been Sorel, Faith, ALcazar, Zaccharas (about every year), Karpov, now Duke? Seriously?
          This show has some kind of habit of ruining its legacy characters and propping its mobsters./ Todd wanting to focus on the great stuff on Jason? Like what?

  14. it never used to be that way…..just since guza began writing…and RC seems to be doing exactly the same thing…

    when i kept on seeing how different he was…….oh we’re going to do this and that….and all this and that..

    all i was, yeah right….he’ll write the same way…

    you know they really need to have brought in the cass’s for this..that helena’s keeping robin hostage, because well, luke is with anna now…so……

    that she’s the one who’s changing lulu’s tests

    and oh gee here’s a concept……a story all of sonny’s own……..

    not this stupid umbrella story that we’re getting with him…..

    susan

    • Oh, I know! How many characters were ruined by Guza? All to prop the mob mostly. No more bringing back favourites to ruin them. Yes, bring the Cassadines back! The real ones, IRina didn’t cut it for me. ANd NO WAY she is HElena’s daughter, biology anyone? GRANDdaughter or great niece, maybe.

      • well RC as far as i’m concerned is doing a bang up job of ruining characters back all by himself…so…

        susan

        what i’m hearing with new rumours is that MB could walk…maybe go and join brenda…..and that LW’s contract might not be renewed….so……that would mean that sam will be the new female lead…

        i’m sorry but seeing sam every day for 9 years is making me sick….well it hasn’t been that bad this year…at least i think…

        but if that happens, and she does become the lead of the show..i might actually walk after 30 years….i just cannot stomach her and her story all the time…..

        she could have got someone to carry her..but i agree…she might be a grand-daughter…daughter of someone else….or a neice….didnt’ mikos have two brothers……i wasn’t watching at the time…but…

        or maybe stefan actually had a daughter and she’s her instead…,nick’s twin……anything…lol..

        yeah bring back the C’s….i’ll stick around…but like i said earlier…..if they’re going to make the entire show all about sam…i definately walk..

        they’re giving us back the q’s…now time to give us back those c’s….

    • Sonny getting his OWN story and something different would be great, MB is a great actor so I would like to see him show his acting chops. MAybe another breakdown? And write his bipolar disorder accurately, not just as a cop out.

Leave a Reply

