IT’S LIKE MY BIRTHDAY AND CHRISTMAS ALL AT ONCE!

You know, the show’s been namedropping Lucy for months and I was almost too scared to hope it meant what I wanted it to mean. But… it looks like all those virgin sacrifices to the soap gods have paid off? (Finally. Do you know how hard it is to find credible virgins any more?)

OH EM GEE, YOU GUYS. They’re really going there! Like, for really reals! With Lynn Herring on board and everything! Not to be overly dramatic, but… I AM SO EXCITED I COULD DIE.

SABRINA: This looks like so much fun. All these people coming together for such a great cause.
EMMA: I told you! Nurses are nice!
SABRINA: I wonder why they don’t do it anymore.
EMMA: Me too.
ME: Because Bob Guza hates joy. And Christmas. And possibly puppies.

You may remember that both of us here at the blog pretty much love the Nurses’ Ball unreasonably? And that resurrecting the tradition even in a parred down, more budget-friendly form has been one of our biggest wishes for pretty much the last ten years? So even though this all but guarantees a bunch of Starr and (shudder) Steve singing, it’s still just about the best news since sliced bread.

(Also, who do I have to shank to get a big, leather bound book of Nurses’ Ball memorabilia like that one?) (And… didn’t it run from 1994 to 2001, not 2000? WHATEVER. Details, schmetails!)

And as if that wasn’t enough, we got AJ laying out some Capital T truth for Michael in basically the scene many people have been waiting for since the day Carly drugged him and dumped him in the that alley. (Note that the original impetus for keeping AJ from knowing he was the father was not to protect Michael from his horrible influence but to protect Carly’s relationship with Tony.) (Classy!)

Anyway, AJ let it all out: the fake relapse, the meathook, everything:

MICHAEL: You think you can spew out all this garbage and turn me against my father? I grew up with him. I know he loves me.
AJ: You grew up with Sonny as your father because Carly would never accept me as your father. Michael, she was so worried that I would find out she was pregnant with–you know what she did to me? She drugged me, and she dropped me off in an alley like a piece of trash. And then she doused me with alcohol so that I would think I drank again.
MICHAEL: Maybe you got drunk, passed out and decided to blame it on my mother.
AJ: No, Michael, no. I was in rehab. I was committed to staying sober. The only mistake that I made was telling Carly that if I did fall off the wagon again, I’d go to rehab out of state, and I’d never come back to Port Charles. Well, that’s all she needed to hear. I mean, she never wanted me to know that I was your father.  As a matter of fact, she wanted me the hell out of there so she could pass you off as Tony Jones’. And when that didn’t work, she passed you of as Jason’s.
MICHAEL: Jason was helping my mom hold onto me when you tried to take me away from her.
AJ: She tried to take you first.

I don’t smoke, but I kind of wanted a cigarette afterward? Because daaaaaamn, that was satisfying.

And even though most of the things they were discussing happened while Billy Warlock was in the role, I honestly can’t picture this conversation having quite the same power if he was the one they’d brought back. Sean Kanan just works the right mixture of entitlement and self-loathing, guilt and self-righteousness. I cannot wait to see him and Laura Wright mix it up on Monday.

On top of all that excitement, we also got the whole town decked out for Halloween, ranging from the adorable (Emma), to the ridiculous (Spinelli), to the perfect (Dante), to the terrifying (Britt), to the mortifying (Sabrina), to the dead sexy (Anna), to the merely implausible (AJ… wearing the same costume he last donned as a 12 year old. BECAUSE SURE, I BET THAT WOULD STILL FIT).

Which obviously calls for more picspam, special Halloween edition:

(Grim reaper AJ pervily spying on his son making sex plans with his girlfriend? Hilarious and disturbing!)

So now that we know the soap gods do accept sacrifices for making impossible dreams come true, what should we ask for next — Genie Francis on full contract? Confirmation that Brenda’s last return was all just a bad fever dream? A Robert Scorpio and Helena Cassadine return? (Oh, wait, that last one’s already coming true. Thank you, soap gods!)

32 thoughts on “IT’S LIKE MY BIRTHDAY AND CHRISTMAS ALL AT ONCE!

  1. i’ve just seen some spoilers…..anf if they do the nurses ball, then i’ll tune in…but the rest of it, is just the same junk…..endless, of it all…

    susan

  2. re: Britt’s costume, I just kept wondering how long it must have taken her to do her hair for a damn Halloween costume.

    Funnily enough I saw a spoiler picture of Dante’s costume and I thought I was gonna hate it but it was totally adorable.

  3. Clearly the next virgin sacrifice – do we know where they congregate together? Do they have to be women? Comicon? We’re going to have to get a stockpile going – goes for Lucy Coe ending up in her skivvies at the Nurses Ball.

  4. I’m just loving this show . Ever since RC and FV have taken over, it’s been wonderful writing, a respect for the show’s history and a return for so many of my favorites.

    AJ , doing some truth telling , was some of the best soap writing I’ve seen on this show. And getting Lucy Coe back is just frosting on a perfect cake.

    I also have to wonder why people who don’t watch the show would have the idea that it’s junk. Take it from me -an actual watcher-it’s not junk, not anymore.

    • I think it’s much better since they took over, it’s not so Mob Worship-y anymore, cops get to be heroes, ANNA is rocking it, and no more spitting on the show’s history. I’ll take it.

  5. Grim reaper AJ pervily spying on his son making sex plans with his girlfriend? Hilarious and disturbing!

    Is that why I cringed a bit when AJ told Michael he just wanted to hold him? It seemed so delusional and slightly creepy. But the point was clearly that AJ still thinks of him as a small child. I really liked the confusion and anger that CD was able to portray about all the crap that AJ put Michael through before he “died” and the truth telling about Sonny and Carly was great. I look forward to AJ learning about Michael being shot in the head and put in the coma. I’m assuming that he would have said something already if Monica had told him.

    • Oh, good point, re: the coma/prison thing. I really enjoyed CD’s reactions during those scenes, and the way he was allowed to remember the trauma of the kidnapping and seeing AJ “murdered”. The attempted hug was sooooo awkward. But you’re right, AJ still sees him like a child. V. excited for Monday!

  6. Speak it, AJ! Would ANY of the bad stuff that had happened to Michael have happened if he was raised by AJ? No. He wouldn’t have needed to be kidnapped, he wouldn’t have been shot in the head, or prison raped, or anything else. He’d be entitled, but he wasn’t already, right? He’d be another Quartermaine. Is that so horrible. Is AJ a saint? No. Are Jason and Sonny saints? NO! Is AJ worse than them? No. Just because Sonny and Jason “Don’t hurt children” doesn’t make them model citizens. I’m not drinking their kool-aid. Michael has been drinking it all his life, so it’s not entirely his fault. I hope he does give AJ a chance, and that AJ being alive doesn’t ruin any chances between Michael and Monica.

  7. Was Britt supposed to be the nurse from Return to House on Haunted Hill? Because that was totally the vibe I got….

    • Hah! Maybe that’s what they based her off of. I love that she was going for sexy and ended up scary. nice touch, costume dept.

  8. Helena and Robert Scorpio are definately coming back at least for short stints, we’re getting Alan this week i believe, not alive though. Genie Francis just had her final scene on Young and the Restless so who knows?…..

  9. dante’s costume….all i could think about was hamburgler in the old mcdonald’s commercials….

    lol…yeah he was adorable in it

    can’t wait how they get lucy in her scivies…that was the best part…

    i remember the last one……she just rolled with it…threw up her hands, and went oh well…

    drats that alan’s not alive…..i keep picturing in my mind…..that tracy is talking to him…she thinks that she’s seeing his ghost…monica walks into the room and sees him too…and freaks out….

    i’m not sure that he’s going to be on YR…..tristen…….that part was scrapped and since geneie’s going, what’s the use….unless he’s going to be around to torture caine more…….

    susan

    yeah ghost alan is awesome…..tenill…but i’d so rather have real alan…

  10. What’s the average lifespan for a duck? Maybe she could come back with Sigmund’s grandduckling…

    lol…that’s what i said on another gh group…….bring his great-great grandchildren….

  11. Speak it, AJ! Would ANY of the bad stuff that had happened to Michael have happened if he was raised by AJ? No. He wouldn’t have needed to be kidnapped, he wouldn’t have been shot in the head, or prison raped, or anything else. He’d be entitled, but he wasn’t already, right? He’d be another Quartermaine. Is that so horrible. Is AJ a saint? No. Are Jason and Sonny saints? NO! Is AJ worse than them? No. Just because Sonny and Jason “Don’t hurt children” doesn’t make them model citizens. I’m not drinking their kool-aid. Michael has been drinking it all his life, so it’s not entirely his fault. I hope he does give AJ a chance, and that AJ being alive doesn’t ruin any chances between Michael and Monica.

    i so agree with that part……none of it would have happened…….as well as AJ being put onto the meat hook to sign over his rights…….so to blame all of this what happened on AJ is just dumb…..

    i agree..he’s an adult now..he can make up his own mind on whether or not to believe AJ and see both sides of the story…..doubt whether sonny will admit to what he did……because they never do…….s

    susan

    • Of course Sonny won’t, he never admits his faults so he winds up repeating them. The most happy, healthy and well-adjusted kids of Sonny’s and Jason’s are those where weren’t raised by them: Dante, pre-Soras Kristina, Jake, and Morgan (who was much younger and was around Jax more). Michael was spoiled and entitled and wanted to be a mobster even after all the crap, maybe Starr can put him in some new perspective. With Abby, Michael became controlling and dominant and yelled at Abby and she just let him, like with Sonny and whoever he’s with, though he seems to be changing with Starr.

  12. I CANNOT wait for today’s show either. I purposely waited to watch thursday and friday’s shows back to back because I wanted ALL the Halloween Soapy goodness in one full swoop and boy did I get it.

    AJ ROCKED IT!!!

    LOVED !!! (not enough exclamation marks in the world…) all the truth telling and CD playing it as conflicted and confused….OH I think that this is going to get sooooo good… and with spoilers saying that Michael will be spending more time with the Quartermaines, I’m getting hopeful.

    AJ wanting to hug Michael was so sadly sweet, he does see him as a child. I too can’t wait to see AJ’s reaction when he learns of all the things that have happened to Michael over the years, especially prison and rape, under JASON’s watch! I believe they are going to give us a quick line from Monica saying she didn’t want AJ to know because of his therapy or recovery or some other nonsense. But I’ll take any explanation for him NOT knowing so that I can see it play out awesomely on my screen.

    Carly is going to catch hell over that. It irked the mess out of me when she kept saying that AJ was a monster – but oh Sonny he “just had his faults”. Really??? Todd was like uhh Carly he’s a mobster. Duh. Thank you.

    I cannot describe how badly I want to see her FINALLY get her end chewed for the mess that has become Michael’s life; with no Jason to protect her. Then her and AJ can fall in bed..lol..But not soon..There has to be a ton of hatred and animosity thrown back and forth for months before the eventual boot knocking!

    I’m sorry Susan but I have to ADAMANTLY disagree. This show is definitely NOT the same ole JUNK. It has taken an awesome turn back to must see since the new regime. I don’t like all the storylines, yes, but there’s more that I do like NOW (70%+) versus ffing and or suffering through 90% of it in the past.

    • I will be interested to see how Todd will respond to learning what Michael has been through because of Sonny. I know Todd is far from a model citizen (he was a gang rapist and has done some pretty bad things other than that), but he doesn’t seem as deluded as Sonny or Carly. As Tennilly pointed out when I also took issue with what Carly said about AJ, he DID make her think Michael was dead and he kiddnapped him, most would have a lot of anger about that. I agree, though, Carly has zero awareness about her role. She never owns anything. I think the show is much better, not perfect, but better. Oh, and I can’t wait for AJ’s reaction to Jake, and learning how JASON wouldn’t get out of the mob and be a dad, instead gave him up. I’d love to have seen AJ’s face during the aftermath of Jake’s death with all the “JAke may have been safer under Jason. Carly seems to forget that Sonny tried to MURDER JAX. But then, Carly seems to be addicted to dangerous men. Todd is the latest, someone should warn him that once she sets her sights on someone, she has a DEATH grip.

Leave a Reply

