This just in: Liz and AJ? STILL THE CUTEST.

His precious little face when she told him she was on his side! I died, seriously. The guy had some full on gobsmacked, twitterpated heart eyes going on, is all I can say:

Liz and AJ heart eyes

AJ heart eyes

AJ: What if it’s all for nothing? What if I fail again? I mean, at least if Spinelli had found Lauren and I had her shares, you know, I’d know she’s on my side. As it stands, I’ve got no one!
ELIZABETH: I’m on your side. I mean, after this is all over, at the end of the day, I’m still going to be here.
AJ: [pleased] Guess I must have done something right.

Meanwhile, Nikolas decided to prove what a good guy he was by not only backing out of his business deal with Tracy, but having his goons physically imprison her, which… not sure that’s really what Elizabeth had in mind, but okay.

And then, of course, he made his case for how he was not pressuring her by following her around and refusing to take no for an answer:

Liz's dress2

NIKOLAS: I’m not trying to pressure you, Elizabeth. I’m simply letting my feelings intentions be known: I want you in my life, you understand. I’ll back off but I’m not gonna back down. I still feel like there’s something real left between us. I feel it every time we’re together and I believe you feel it too. Something that makes us happier, better people together. I don’t want to give up on that.

Okay, and here is my problem with Nikolas and Elizabeth in a nutshell: I have never, ever seen a single hint that they make each other either even the slightest bit happier or better people. Quite the opposite, in fact. When they were together the first time, they brought out the worst, most selfish, self-destructive impulses in one another. And after it was over, they were both pretty brutally honest about how their entire relationship was less about love and more about grief and self-loathing. And every time he pushes the issue this time around, she looks exactly as miserable as she did before.

But AJ makes her smile. He makes her laugh. Their relationship isn’t fraught with guilt and pain. She actually does bring out the best in him, and other than that really regrettable slip during their fight at Kelly’s, he’s been able to give her a safe, non-judgmental place to turn to.

Liz's dress3

I just like them so much, you guys!
(I DON’T KNOW IF YOU NOTICED.)

In any case, I think I’ve finally figured out what Elizabeth was doing all those months when she didn’t seem to have much of a plot going on beyond Sabrina and Patrick’s relationship counselor: shopping for a closet full of the cutest dresses known to man! Remember her date night with Doctor CrazyAbs? Well, that had nothing on these:

Liz's dress1

Liz's dress4

Like, seriously. I realize you could pretty much throw Rebecca Herbst into a burlap sack and it would still look amazing. But those dresses are adorbs. WORK IT, LIZ.

despair-divider

In other news: NuMorgan’s also in New York! And he looks like a Abercrombie & Fitch model! And acts like an insufferable dude bro! Um… yay?

(You know it’s a bad sign when at the end of a character’s first full episode, you’re already cheering on the evil mob goons beating him up. But, I mean, really. The smug little punk had it coming.)

NuMorgan

I’m not sure why, exactly, they’ve decided to introduce him as this careless, entitled, selfish, stupid little asshole. Unless that’s meant to be some sort of commentary on the natural result of combining Sonny and Carly’s genes? In which case: way to go, writers. I approve.

But no matter! Because his story is also tying in the return of the Jeromes and the missing Quartermaine heir — and though all this Franco talk naturally makes me a little nervous, so long as he stays dead, I can handle it in service of an actual umbrella story.

despair-divider

And here’s this week’s One Life to Live moment of zen:

Nora and Bo

Because Bo and Nora making their own role-playing fun will never get old.

38 thoughts on “This just in: Liz and AJ? STILL THE CUTEST.

    • A pox on all mash names! Except the few I actually like! Because I’m fickle like that!
      (But yes, at least Quiz is better than Layjay, or whatever the alternative could have been.)

    • We’ll see. Oh wait, we can only see if we keep watching. Even tho I do not like the idea of Nik and Liz , I do appreciate the way they’re finally making him all Cassadine in his stalker ways. I would not count out AJ at all. And since Carly is in the mix, they have the makings of a great quadruple. Triangles are so yesterday.

      • I’m enjoying the whole thing – I am rooting for Liz/AJ (and I don’t see any reason to assume they’re done even if they break up – this is a soap) and I am enjoying Nik pursuing Liz even though I hated Nik/Liz the first time around. It’s all good soap, as far as I’m concerned.

  1. In an odd way I did like AJ wearing Nik’s clothes, not for his actions, that’s a HUGE WTF, but because it showed these writers aren’t afraid to have a character they like (and they clearly like AJ) do really stupid things. No Niz! I could never stand them, and there was no reason for it, I love Elizabeth but her lying to Lucky during that time was so needless and made her look like a hypocrite. She talked about how much Lucky hurt her but she was doing the same thing! Too bad Nik isn’t back to being more likeable but I’m guessing he’s not here to stay. I say go Quiz!

  2. I still don’t see it with Quiz. I wish I did. The cute does zip for me: AJ still reads like a petulant teenager to me, and Liz already has two boys at home (one of whom is Morgan’s age, so how weird is that that Cam’s still 10? Ah, unequal SORASing…) And that stuff where she was talking him through the panic attack? It was just way too maternal in a way that I found a complete turnoff for a romantic pairing.

    OTOH… I love and live for the crazy angst with Nik and Liz.. They hit a ton of different notes between Wednesday and Friday, and I loved every one of their scenes. They did flirty, sexy, funny, passionate, angry… and they knocked it all out of the park.

    And she could be happy with Nik, as long as she gets over that guilt. She’s certainly far from immune to him, because she ate up that speech Friday with a spoon.

    Ah, well. Vive la difference. And I can agree wholeheartedly that Liz/BH looks ADORABLE lately, and totally good enough to drive two such very different men crazy. So there’s that!

    • Regarding the unequal SORASing — I think it’s because when looking at Nancy Grahn or Laura Wright, you don’t have trouble imagining that they have college-age kids, but Becky Herbst looks (and is) younger, and of course we know that Liz was not a teen mom. It would be completely unbelievable to me if a Michael or Morgan-like Cam shared a screen with her.

      But I’m probably wrong and it will happen soon, so ….

      • Yeah, I’m in no hurry for Cam to be SORASed into a teenager. NLG and LW are in different age brackets than RH. It just wouldn’t work as well.

  3. I love it all. AJ and Liz for their fun and silliness. Liz and Nik because Nik brings full on Cassadine Crazy and I’m all for that gothic ridiculousness and you can tell that Liz WANTS to leave the room but… there’s an attraction and she can’t just get away. Meanwhile AJ and Carly, even if it never happens again, fantastic and wrong. It’s Monica and Alan-esque in it’s glorious, hot, self-loathing.

    As for Morgan. It’s interesting how he was a decent human being with Mama Jerome and then turned into a douche on the phone. Then again, with Sonny, Carly, and Jax as role models (because Jax can be a total douche too..) poor Morgan doesn’t have a chance. Except, you know.. not getting shot in the head or chest. So..

    Let’s see if he can got he year without a gunshot wound.

  4. I concur with everything that you said. Quiz is absolutely completely adorable. And I love the fact that everytime they are together Elizabeth is laughing and smiling. She is flirtly and she is having fun. I keep seeing so many people saying that she is running away from her feelings for Nik and I am just not seeing that on my screen at all. I am all aboard the Quiz train and I am ready for it to run over the speed bump that is Nikolas Cassadine.

  5. Yay for all the Quiz love!!! They are super cute and I could go for a little sweet and slow for once. Fun, happy, laughing Elizabeth is what I want to see. And she really does make AJ a better guy, which just makes my heart flutter. Yeah, AJ is going to blow the whole thing up but I’m looking forward to him winning her back again.

    I was rather preturbed that they positioned the camera at such an angle that we couldn’t see Elizabeth & AJ kiss. WTF?

    At first, I was glad Nik was back and was enjoying the friendship being fixed between him and Elizabeth but now I’m not so happy. Nik is acting so arrogantly that I just want to smack him. And seriously, I’m tired of seeing Elizabeth crying which is basically what she is now doing in every scene with him.

    But then I do appreciate the major contrast between Elizabeth & AJ and ELizabeth & Nik, they are playing them as completely opposite and doing it well. AJ is nervous and smitten and unsure while Nik is pretty much trying to seduce Elizabeth.

    • It’s nice to see her having fun and nice to see her in a relationship where she’s coming into it as an equal partner. They both give something and get something from it — I loved her with Jason, but I was so tired of her always pursuing him and begging for scraps. And of course Jason always had to be right about everything. With AJ, he can make mistakes and so can she, and they can help each other.

      • That was the big turnoff for me, the whole dumping you to protect you act. So condescending and sexist, really so Guza. You want to protect the people you love? LEAVE. THE,MOB. But nope, he’d still have enemies. He wasn’t worth it, Liz should have just said “Then screw you” and never looked back, instead of pining for him, and same for Sam in 2006, when Jason did that to her. The only time the whole “It’s to protect you” line worked for me was Dante, he’s a cop, his job is to protect people, so then I do think it’s real. Liz and AJ have so much chemistry and have a clean slate with each other. And AJ doesn’t treat women like possessions

  6. Okay, and here is my problem with Nikolas and Elizabeth in a nutshell: I have never, ever seen a single hint that they make each other either even the slightest bit happier or better people. Quite the opposite, in fact. When they together the first time, they brought out the worst, most selfish, self-destructive impulses in one another. And after it was over, they were both pretty brutally honest about how their entire relationship was less about love and more about grief and self-loathing. And every time he pushes the issue this time around, she looks exactly as miserable as she did before.

    But AJ makes her smile. He makes her laugh. Their relationship isn’t fraught with guilt and pain. She actually does bring out the best in him, and other than that really regrettable slip during their fight at Kelly’s, he’s been able to give her a safe, non-judgmental place to turn to.

    agreed, but you know what the problem is with others that I post with, is that they cannot stand AJ no matter what he does…they do not see liz and nick as that couple…..they want liz and nick, and nothing else…..and they will not see AJ in a positive light…..so, we’re kind of stuck….

  7. At first, I was glad Nik was back and was enjoying the friendship being fixed between him and Elizabeth but now I’m not so happy. Nik is acting so arrogantly that I just want to smack him. And seriously, I’m tired of seeing Elizabeth crying which is basically what she is now doing in every scene with him.

    I so agree…I was so happy to have him back, and now I can’t wait for him to go…

    but what i’m hearing is that if the lying game is back for another season, he’s still going to do GH….so

    susan

  8. I just love AJ and Liz, and they are the only reason I tune into GH right now! They bring out the best in each other. Totally live the way Liz is always smiling , happy when she is with him. Completely agree about her wardrobe too! Quiz is just adorable all around!!!

  9. I too am only watching GH right now for Quiz. They make each other happy and are new and sparkly. All I’ve seen Nik bring out in Liz is tears and remorse. Nik is having delusions that their trysts equalled some great love affair. Hey Nik, I’ve got some ocean front property in Arizona I’d like to sell ya.

  10. So glad I found your blog! It is nice to find someone that ships Quiz the way I do! I love it when they smile at each other, so cute.

    “but you know what the problem is with others that I post with, is that they cannot stand AJ no matter what he does…”
    Really – how can you not love AJ! I love the underdog, down on his luck type characters. AJ is my favorite and I am so rooting for him to be successful. (I think he is already successful with Michael; he just doesn’t realize it yet!)

  11. Quiz for the win! I am a huge Liason fan, but SBu is gone and Frons was never, ever going to allow a pairing (Liason) that he did not create ever stand a chance as a long term couple.

    Niz is just all kinds of nasty. As a poster stated at another site, Nik cheated on the love of his life (Emily) after she was raped and had a child with Courtney. How is any Niz fan suppose to think that this man would treat Liz (a rape survivor) any different than Emily?

  12. Remember when Liz was on the rooftop of GH and wanted to jump? That’s the happy time Nik is talking about… Yeah, not interested in a sequel.

    AJ and Liz are so freaking adorable! I don’t remember watching Liz smile so much in like a decade. I wish their romance would go faster, but it’s so sweet. I wanted sweetness for AJ and Liz for so long now.

  13. I have also moved on from Quiz fun while it lasted, the only thing that could be better is for Liz to be engaged to Nik, and have an affair with AJ, I don’t see Quiz long lasting

  14. There are so many things wrong with Niz that I won’t bother to go into them, previous comments have already covered a lot of the lowlights. Quiz light up the screen when they’re together! For once, Elizabeth is with a man who sees her as an equal, values her opinion and, above all, respects her. AJ has finally found a woman who believes in his ability to be “that guy,” a nice guy who deserves love. Neither is perfect, but they’re perfect together.

    Love, love, love your blog!

  15. unfortunately I think they’re going for Niz, unless the lying game is renewed and TC leaves. FV has been pimping Niz on twitter.

    I was looking forward to Dante and Morgan’s friendship being renewed with the recast, but I can’t picture Dante and this Morgan getting along at all. Maybe Morgan will tone it down around him

    • Yes, I saw FV’s tweets about Liz/Nik which means there is not a snow ball chance in hell that Quiz will end up as a couple.

      Also, TC stated he was prepared to do The Lying Game and GH at the same time.

    • Listen, if I let support from TPTB, or lack thereof, dictate my enjoyment of a couple, I wouldn’t have had any at all to root for over the last ten years. What will be, will be. I’m still enjoying what we’re getting right now.

      • oh, sorry, I didn’t mean to make you feel like you couldn’t enjoy them now because of that. I would never try to rain on anyone’s parade like that. I just spoke thoughtlessly out of my own disgruntlement about Niz, heh. It was such a disaster last time around and one of my favorite stories on this show ever was the story of the Liz/Lucky/Nik/Emily friendship forming. Everytime they touch Niz with a ten foot pole I feel like they are trodding all over the original story

        • No worries. I think I’m just less pessimistic because 1) I feel like FV and RC really aren’t interested in revisiting total loser AJ, and 2) they’re treating this like more of a classic triangle, where there isn’t one clear winner or loser. So it could swing either way. And then back again!

          I mean, we’ve basically got a Sonny/Brenda/Jax situation where “passion” is being pitted against the choice that actually makes her happy. (Except I don’t personally see the passion, but whatever. A lot of people seem to.) So even if Nik ends up “winning” this round, that doesn’t have to mean AJ is ruined or down for the count. IDK. I’m cautiously optimistic right now. Time will tell. And at least Liz is getting screen time.

          • True: re: the triangle swinging back towards AJ. I’d more worried about Carly and AJ but I think RH will be paired with LW long term.

            Yes, Liz getting screentime is a plus. and not that it isn’t always a variety of awesome, but Becky Herbst’s hair has looked fantastic the past two or three days.

  16. #QuizLove #QuizLove #QuizLove!!! But I’m also enjoying her scenes with Nik, because no matter the outcome, Elizabeth Webber/Rebecca Herbst is FINALLY getting quality Screen time & decent writing (apart from this Relish/The Chew mess). Liz is being pursued by 2 very different Handsome Men. She’s not the one doing the chasing, or the Loser in a lop-sided triangle. As an Elizabeth Fan, I’m enjoying seeing her on my screen & I won’t let rumours & spoilers ruin this good run. I’m confident that the current people in charge realize what a Gem they have in Liz/BH and won’t let her fans down.

    • Ummmm…RC is the one that wrote that crap about Liz messing with Sam’s paternity test just because SBu was leaving the show. You’re better off buying swamp land to ever hope that RC want eff up Quiz, Liz, AJ, or Nik down the road. Don’t get me wrong, RC/FV did a lot of wonderful things on OLTL and even GH, but I know from experience that a stink bomb is not far off!

    • Yup. Regardless of how it all turns out, I love seeing Liz get all this positive attention.

      I won’t let rumours & spoilers ruin this good run.

      WORD. WORDY McWORDINGTON.

  17. Really love your blog. I too, am really enjoying AJ and Liz!!!!!!!! I would enjoy it a lot more if Nik was just trying to rebuild his friendship with Liz, instead of being such a pushy pompous a$$. But what evs it’s a soap, I’ll just continue to enjoy Liz being front and centre:)

Leave a Reply

