Them other boys don’t know how to act.

Poor Lucas Jones. For years, he was the token gay of Port Charles — which is a heavy burden for a character who wasn’t even on screen for most of that time. And even with Felix and Brad on the show for over a year now, it’s still been up to Lucas to really bring sexy back.

Lucas and Brad in bed

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED, BTW

It’s also apparently up to Lucas to handle the standard disapproving parent coming out plot — since that aspect of Felix’s back story seems to have been dropped along with Taylor’s original actress. But let’s just say he did it justice:

I thought that would be a relief for [Tony] to know it wasn’t his blood that made me turn out to be gay. Instead, he accepted me as soon as I came out. You know what he told me as he was dying? That he was proud of me. And that I shouldn’t let anyone — anyone! — disrespect me or make me feel bad about myself and less of a man for being gay. He loved me. He accepted me. That’s what a real father does! I don’t care about blood or DNA. You are not my father.

SO MUCH TONY JONES LOVE, Y’ALL. I adored this entire speech, including the beginning, where he neatly punctured Julian’s stereotypes about sports and just needing a strong masculine role model.

(Also, if you’re in the mood for a good cry, go rewatch Tony’s death scenes. Then punch yourself because you still have half a post to write and now you’re bawling too hard to see the screen.)

So, yes: Lucas standing up for himself with confidence, accepting no bullshit, and defining real fatherhood in no uncertain terms was all super good for me. As was this bit:

Lucas confronts Julian2

JULIAN: I am just–I’m having a little trouble with this is all.
LUCAS: Well, that’s okay. Because I have trouble with who you are.
JULIAN: What?
LUCAS: You’re a mobster.
JULIAN: Oh, come on now. That’s not even the same thing as being gay.
LUCAS: Well, I’m glad that we can agree on that. I was born this way — you chose to be a mobster! You chose to kill people, to racketeer, to steal and whatever else it is that you do. You honestly think that’s better than being gay?

I might or may not have started slow clapping at Julian’s gobsmacked reaction to that handy bit of truth.

Also — and not to get too personal, but — as someone who’s been on Lucas’ side of this conversation with one parent who responded as perfectly as Tony and another who was a bit more thrown, I really appreciated the realism of a less than perfect reaction that didn’t descend into full blown, cartoonish homophobia. You don’t have to be a card carrying member of the Westboro Baptist Church to have some ignorant ideas and need an adjustment period.

So I have high hopes for Julian shaping up once he’s had a little time to get used to it. And (hopefully) once he’s had his prejudices challenged some more by Alexis.

Julexis1

Julexis2

(In case you were wondering, the squeal I let out when he  admit he needed her was, in fact, supersonic. As was my level of delight at the way they were looking at each other at the Metro Court the other day. I’m still trying not to get my hopes up too high, but… three interactions in the space of a week is a good sign, right?)

despair-divider

In other news, Friday’s parent/child themed episode was so all around entertaining — I even enjoyed Morgan, people. MORGAN — that I actually found myself mentally high-fiving Kiki for the brief moment when she was calling out Ava on her self-absorption. But let’s be clear: KIKI IS STILL ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE.

Like, I don’t know if a single screen cap can adequately convey the full obnoxiousness of the faces she made while both Dante and Michael confronted her with her actions, but if you can look at the picture below and not want to slap the self-righteous indignation right off of her… you are a much better person than I:

Kiki is TERRIBLE

MICHAEL: Franco was texting you from inside my apartment as a diversion so he could escape. And then here you are helping him escape again.
KIKI: [in literally the snottiest voice imaginable] I told you I was sorry.
MICHAEL: Yeah, no, I’m sorry, too. I’m sorry that you chose to care more about supporting Franco than my mother’s life. I’m sorry that you turned your back on me when I needed you the most!

As a friend pointed out, the only thing not incredibly satisfying about about Michael yelling at her is the sure knowledge that he’ll eventually end up apologizing when her instincts are proven correct. Even though she still abused his trust, betrayed and lied to him, and broke the law to aid a serial killer she barely knows based on zero evidence other than his sad puppy dog eyes. Ugh.

Shut up, Kiki. Shut up, Kiki’s stupid offended face.

12 thoughts on “Them other boys don’t know how to act.

  1. “In case you were wondering, the squeal I let out when he admit he needed her was, in fact, supersonic. As was my level of delight at the way they were looking at each other at the Metro Court the other day. I’m still trying not to get my hopes up too high, but… three interactions in the space of a week is a good sign, right?”

    My squeal was supersonic too. I swear if there isn’t follow up to that voicemail, that we actually see onscreen, and if that doesn’t lead to them, as I saw someone online say about Julexis, banging like screen doors in a hurricane, by the end of February, I am going to be leaving some mean comments on the GH comment line.

    • I’m giving them until Tuesday for her to listen to his email or I’m calling them too! I did love that he called her to talk after what went down with Lucas. I also loved the MC scenes, only wish they were longer. Need to see more scenes soon!

    • My squeal was supersonic too. I swear if there isn’t follow up to that voicemail, that we actually see onscreen, and if that doesn’t lead to them, as I saw someone online say about Julexis, banging like screen doors in a hurricane, by the end of February, I am going to be leaving some mean comments on the GH comment line.

      sadly I fell asleep during the second half..i’m still miffed…might watch it after I do my e-s on city…

      susan

      • Count me in calling in if they forget about Julian and Alexis again like they have for two whole months. I haven’t watched lately as much as I did last autumn. I make sure to watch when there’s any Julian and Alexis scenes or them together with Sam. Hopefully they’ll give Julian and Alexis a good run at a story. It’s the best romance they have even though they haven’t invested much into them. Hope that changes.

  2. I think Felix and Lucas were the hottest thing on GH in years. And that includes Alexis and Julian. But they are still hot. I just wish they would stop putting things in my way of enjoying Julian. I get what you are saying about it being realistic and if he was the person he was portrayed as when he was Derek, I could handle this. But there is so much stuff they make Derek say and do that pisses me off. Ugh. Why show?
    Also, it makes me realize that when Robin returned we got a scene with her and Patrick in bed, but no real sex scene. Blargh. That who story is and was the worst.

    • See, I like it, because I think it presents an opportunity for Julian to put his money where his mouth is when it comes to caring about his children. I don’t think he’s coming at this from a place a malice; it’s just not something he’s probably ever had to confront before. Now that he has, him being able to work through it will show some nice character growth. Assuming that’s what happens, of course.

    • At this point, Derek is a bit too much of a black hat to be a gray hat, if that makes any sense. But, like you said, the lack of insta-acceptance or insta-rejection was a refreshing change. Even if Lucas wasn’t the best. Which he is, even if I was slow clapping and ugly crying at the same time.

      As for “the worst”, well, I’ve tried playing that game (worse than this? Ok, this or this? Ok, this or that?), and it just ends up in nightmares.

  3. ITA with your whole last paragraph. Not to mention the fact that if she told the police what she knew – that Heather is out there – they could have at least known she was a possibility.

  4. k…saw it…

    and I loved lucas..he really gave Julian, food for thought….

    loved the part, you weren’t born a mobster, you choose it, you kill people, and all that for a living…why….you can quit….but, we all know that he won’t…

    so he’s a hypocrate…in the biggest sense…

    so want alexis to call him back though, to me they’re the hottest couple on the show…

    too bad though that not all think like that

    susan

    • It doesn’t help that they dropped the couple for two months to back burner them for another go at Patrick being involved with another pregnant woman and a mob war that is so pro Sonny once again. The kidnapping’s too campy and Victor’s too isolated on the canvas so far to a character who’s leaving town soon. I didn’t watch much in January because Alexis got back burned and her story with Julian and his with Sam disappeared. I came back because of them being back on canvas at least once. Amid all the camp that’s not my cup of tea, the one emotionally realistic story got lost.

      I’m hoping that they get a story and it’s one that continues onward. It’s definitely the best thing going on so far in my opinion. Not much else grabbing me at the moment though I though the Julian and Lucas scenes were handled well.

  5. OMG Lucas is SO HOT. So DELICIOUS in his hotness. And I actually LOVE that Lucas has an obvious moral compass. Besides pursuing some hot Brad (omg guys, when did Brad get hot?) He’s so…calm and steady and a REAL PERSON. That actor has quickly become one of my faves. :)

    And god.. Julian and Alexis.. I want them SO MUCH to be a thing this sweeps. *sighs longingly*

Leave a Reply

