You’re breaking my heart here, Quartermaine.

Okay, you know what? I am glad to see Laura, and even gladder to hear she might be sticking around for a while. But for the LOVE OF GOD, can Tracy please stop being the romantic whipping boy of Port Charles? Please?

Tracy and Dillon

TRACY: I believed him. From the bottom of my soul, I had faith that Luke and I would prove all of you wrong. That our love would outlast all the naysayers. But he didn’t love me. He never did. Nobody ever did.
DILLON: Are you kidding me? I love you. You are the strongest, smartest, bravest woman I have ever known. You are my mom and I love you. I always will.

That Jane Elliot is killing it with this material should go without saying. She is a master at playing both Tracy’s hard outer shell and the vulnerable loneliness it hides. But I am just so deeply bored by yet another story where Tracy’s feelings get thrown in the dumpster because Luke won’t include her on his adventure. Frankly, I lost interest in Luke years ago — right about the time the writing started indulging in endless cynical soliloquies about the torture of having a family that loved him. But I have never actively wanted him to leave before.

Now, though? I’m so done with it, y’all. I’m so done with Tracy getting the rug pulled out from under her. I’m so done with her being publicly humiliated. I’m so done with her waiting in this terrible limbo for a man who has treated her like and afterthought over and over again.

Tracy and Dillon2

It freaks me out that he looks like he might
actually have evolved from a teenage Scott Clifton

Because it doesn’t matter that he was obviously lying through his teeth during the engagement party break up. What matters is that he has never, ever been able to consistently treat her well. He has only ever loved her on his terms, when it was convenient for him, and tossed her and her feelings aside when it wasn’t.

For all my other recent complaints, this regime has been pretty great about allowing older women to be romantically and sexually viable. So here is my wish: I will sit through a million more embarrassing scenes of Kiki and Morgan pretending to have chemistry if we can just get a single romance for Tracy with a man who actually deserves her. I want her to be the love of someone else’s life! I want her to be pursued for who she is and not what she has, and I want her to have a partner who will put her needs before anything else!

I mean, soaps are supposed to be wish fulfillment, right? After nearly forty years, is it really that much to ask for this woman to get a damn break?

despair-divider

In other news, hey, let’s check out this charming alternate universe in which two cuties spent the morning being all adorably domestic and one of them was definitely not horribly betraying the love of her life for completely selfish, batshit reasons:

Liason in bed1

Liason in bed2

Yes, this alternative universe couple that is absolutely not doomed sure is delightful! I’m so glad I can non-ironically enjoy all of their scenes without internally screaming.

I mean, imagine what terrible torture it would be if we finally got the scenes I’ve been wanting for 15 years and they were all tainted by a terrible lie?

internally screaming

HAHAHA. THAT SURE WOULD SUCK.

20 thoughts on “You’re breaking my heart here, Quartermaine.

  1. I watched two days last week because, well, Laura. But yes. Why couldn’t the let Tracy know the reason and choose to stay? Choose to be with Dylan, save ELQ, be with Lulu, or any other reason for not dropping everything to leave town. Just not be made to feel last.
    Luckily no real Liz/Jake scenes. I just can not with them. Screaming inside is so right. It feels like another slap in the face to their fans. I mean 15 years of loyalty isn’t enough, lol.
    I would rather they just had moved Liz completely out of his orbit. Seriously they could still keep her at back burner status if they must but give me a great slow burn romance at the same time. Someone who chooses her. I’d love for her to have an AMC Zach/Kendal type romance. Well, until they did they did the whole Bianca pregnancy story.
    I hate raining on any fans parade, cause been there, but please, please do not let this lead to a Nik/Liz combo.

  2. for me and so many others it’s the other way around…we want liz and jake….it’s him with that other one that we really don’t want…but that’s what we’ll get eventually

    why keep her on the back burner, I really didn’t watch the show last week, never really had the chance, I was out all the time…sometimes I watch it on city, the station that gives it to me…but, didn’t want to…and it was because of all the nina/franco stuff…those two bore me to tears..

    but I’m a lake fan, first and formost, although I agree with you….they shouldn’t be doing it like it is

    a lot of the fans are hoping that in the end this isn’t Jason to make it like he’s really victor over on one life…..or john black over on days…that kind of idea…but…

    the tracy part I do agree with….why they’re doing the story this way doesn’t make me care about larua anymore at all….and that’s realy sad..

    susan

    oh that’s so what I don’t want, I will agree with you on that one, nick and liz had their chance, they are so done…and the fact that he’s turning into his stupid family makes me so not care about him either anymore…

    I never wanted nick to go to the dark side, but they’ve slowly been putting him there ever since his return what was it three years ago now

    • I’m a huge Liz fan. I am also a huge Jason/Liz fan. Have loved them since that scene at Jake’s. I would love if they could be together. It would be a great story that could of paralleled their first story. And the drama of the reveal was naturally there, what with Jake/Liz and Patrick/Sam. But instead this story is leaving a very bad taste in my mouth.
      It seems like they put Liz with Jason just to pull the rug out time and again, much like with Tracy.
      Also, if Liz is not with Jason she seems to be put on the back burner.
      My preference would be Jake/Liz.
      But if can not have that with out destroying Liz, then I’d love for her to have her own front burner story without Jason. The chances of that seem slim.
      So if shy does get back burner again, instead of just being a prop for other characters they gave her her own story. And if you only get to show up a few minutes every way, well its a natural way to have a slow burn, lol.

  3. I too was annoyed by this story line with Tracy. Luke fed her all this BS about how much she meant to him, she was the true love of his life etc. But the minute Laura comes waltzing in to tell him that (I’m assuming) that one of the kids is in danger, he totally lies to Tracy and humiliates her. Why couldn’t he just tell Laura, ‘look I understand the need for secrecy but I have to tell Tracy. Non-negotiable!’ And I also agree that I would love for Tracy to meet a man who pursues her and loves her for who she is, not someone who is being forced to marry her (Paul Hornsby, Mitch Williams) or just wants her money (Luke Spencer, Larry Ashton). At least Joe Scully Jr. seems to really love Tracy for herself. He gave up the cure instead of taking it himself.

  4. So if shy does get back burner again, instead of just being a prop for other characters they gave her her own story. And if you only get to show up a few minutes every way, well its a natural way to have a slow burn, lol.

    once again i agree……

  5. I too was annoyed by this story line with Tracy. Luke fed her all this BS about how much she meant to him, she was the true love of his life etc. But the minute Laura comes waltzing in to tell him that (I’m assuming) that one of the kids is in danger, he totally lies to Tracy and humiliates her. Why couldn’t he just tell Laura, ‘look I understand the need for secrecy but I have to tell Tracy. Non-negotiable!’ And I also agree that I would love for Tracy to meet a man who pursues her and loves her for who she is, not someone who is being forced to marry her (Paul Hornsby, Mitch Williams) or just wants her money (Luke Spencer, Larry Ashton). At least Joe Scully Jr. seems to really love Tracy for herself. He gave up the cure instead of taking it himself.

    why doesn’t he tell her that….because the writers totally are complete idiots don’t you know…yes that’s how it should be written, but that doesn’t mean it will be..

    but since tony geary wants totally out of the show..i guess this is their way of not having tracy chase after him in the end…

    yes that would be the right thing to do….but we all know that’s not how it’s being written….they’re making him an a-hole all over agian..

    who was mitch williams, i dn’t remember him…..

    yeah…maybe they never should have gotten rid of joe scully….i think that was wrong…..that they did…

    hey you think that helena has him on ice someplace…lol….and he’ll come out when she needs him……

    yeah others that i talk to think that lucky’s in trouble again and they have to go and save him….

    • I don’t know, I feel like if we’re making crazy wishes for Tracy’s future romantic prospects, we can aim higher than “unapologetic rapist and murderer who had a single moment of empathy that one time,” you know?

      • yes, but who is there, i mean larry is a total creep….i don’t know if they can redeam him…..paul is in love with the woman that ned was supposed to marry…so..jenni echart

        the guy that she married on city is dead, and i don’t want her with another mob guy…

        so really there is no one, unless they bring on someone totally new for her…they’re all creeps in their own way…

        so it’s almost like liz and tracy are the same way they keep on getting thrown off the bus for others….

        susan

          • you know who would be kind of perfect for tracy…is Sloane……that’s if they weren’t putting him and anna together…..

            who I don’t like…….if it was the first Sloane…then I could see him and anna, but not this one…

            susan

  6. Couldn’t agree more with your Liz/Jake assessment.

    The current writing/producing team tell the end of their stories before they really begin them? Why could they not write a triangle that is a “fair fight” and not pre-destined from the get go.

    Why is it “more dramatic” to have Liz keep a secret, than to have the emotional, character driven fallout that would ensue if both Jake/Liz were in love & Sam/Patrick were in love and both were planning lives together and then they both find out together? Then you have four “root-worthy” characters and three “root-worthy” couples.

    The GH PTB really screwed this up. They had climbing ratings & interest for a while and once the rumors, spoilers and then scripts showed them trashing Liz again for Jason & Sam, the ratings started sinking.

    Nathan Varni a while ago on Twitter wanted viewers to watch the whole story and have fun. This isn’t fun for this Liz / Liason fan. Why would anyone invest in the pairings of Liz/Jason or Sam/Patrick. I’ve seen this before and know how this ends.

  7. that’s the big problem…I mean like you said that’s the logical way to write, isn’t it….but who says they do logic…..lol

    they need us all to write..to get together and write something believeable…….and not always end game anymore….I mean it’s not a novel….that’s done in a few stories…..so, why write it that way….

    susan

    I hear you….on one yuku group that I belong to, someone started to watch again for liason….but now, she doesn’t even want to care, because she knows how endgame is……

    people are really loving sam and Patrick, I don’t, because I’m not a fan of hers…but why can’t they leave them together……you know have jake go back somewhat to the way he used to be…he’s no longer in love with sam…he’s changed, and all that…ok, be there for danny, and everything…but…be no longer in love with sam….

  8. I like Sam and Patrick together. I wish they could write couples actually falling in love without one of them mooning over a dead husband or someone keeping a secret. I think it would have been great if Patrick and Jake became good friends. We’ve seen the Liz/Sam thing to death. What if Patrick and Jake really liked each other and hung out together? That would be a great dynamic for a reveal.

  9. JJ i don’t like sam, no matter what…but i do agree with you there…..why can’t patrick and jake be friends in the end…

    and yes…why is the dead whatever always coming back..it’s boring and it get so old..

    i wish that at times the american soaps were like the brit ones…if you’re dead, you stay that way…no recast, no nothing….no sorasing either…lol….

    so…

    maybe that’s how they should aim it now…..so we don’t always have the stupid stories…so and so’s not dead he was frozen……he was brain dead, and i brought him back to life, her, oh there’s plastic surgery and all that..

    you know what…teh one that i watch the most, they are really truely creative with all their characters…and guess what, although i haven’t been watching it since day one, i’ve only been about 15 years of so…but it’s been on the air i believe for 65 now…so

    susan

  10. Couldn’t agree more with your Liz/Jake assessment.

    The current writing/producing team tell the end of their stories before they really begin them? Why could they not write a triangle that is a “fair fight” and not pre-destined from the get go.

    Why is it “more dramatic” to have Liz keep a secret, than to have the emotional, character driven fallout that would ensue if both Jake/Liz were in love & Sam/Patrick were in love and both were planning lives together and then they both find out together? Then you have four “root-worthy” characters and three “root-worthy” couples.

    The GH PTB really screwed this up. They had climbing ratings & interest for a while and once the rumors, spoilers and then scripts showed them trashing Liz again for Jason & Sam, the ratings started sinking.

    Nathan Varni a while ago on Twitter wanted viewers to watch the whole story and have fun. This isn’t fun for this Liz / Liason fan. Why would anyone invest in the pairings of Liz/Jason or Sam/Patrick. I’ve seen this before and know how this ends.

    that is the big question mickey….a huge why………and why are they allowed to keep on doing this…

    susan

  11. TIIC of this show do one thing right and ten wrong. Michael is back in the mob, Lucy had a lobotomy, or I did because her reason for siding with Nickolas still makes my eyes roll around in my head with a WTH ? Laura made me return also , now I am gone again. This show makes no sense !

  12. I hear you janet…I totally do…

    I have barely been watching all month….and I really don’t care, if I watch or not…I sued to……

    but

    susan

Leave a Reply

