Another day, another reason not to care.

It’s so hard to care about anything on this show right now, you guys. Like, I really tried to care about Luke’s last episode? But since it was basically an interminable Luke/Sonny circle jerk — actual dialog from Luke to Sonny: “Port Charles is going to need you now” (!?!?) — with no tribute montage and no last scene with Laura because Tony’s Geary’s issues matter more than viewer satisfaction, I wound up feeling more irritated than nostalgic.

But if there’s one thing you can count on, it’s that I’m always here for a good Morgan tell off:

Morgan and Ava caught in the act

MORGAN: I do care about Kiki, okay? The last thing I want to do it hurt her.
SILAS: Then you never should have gotten back together with her! You never should have claimed to care about her! You never should have asked her to trust you when you were so clearly unworthy of her trust. You are a selfish, shallow, horny little brat, and you deserve to be screwed over the same way you’re screwing over my daughter.

Of course, Morgan being Morgan, he stayed apologetic for roughly 2.5 seconds before getting self-righteously angry and blaming his bullshit on everyone by him. But, hey! At least Silas got to go out on a relative high note! 

Silas yells as Morgan

I wish I could say I was sorry see him go, but let’s be real. Silas was easily the most useless character on the canvas, and on a show which regularly features the romantic trials and tribulations of a serial killer, that is really saying something. Farewell, Michael Easton! We’ll always have McBain hugs!

Meanwhile, my girl Elizabeth continues to be BATSHIT INSANE:

LAURA: Look, you believed that little Jake was dead. For many, many years, you mourned him. You know about that ache that never ever goes away. And the feeling you had when found out he was alive — don’t you want that for Monica too?
ELIZABETH: It isn’t the same thing.
LAURA: It is exactly the same thing!

First of  all, THANK YOU, LAURA. I have been waiting for someone in this story to give a crap about Monica. And second, no Liz, it’s not the same thing. Because Monica is mourning all four of her children, whereas you at least still had two alive when Jake was “dead.”

Liz crazy eyes

SNAP OUT OF IT

And now it turns out she knows Nikolas has a hit man on speed dial but seems to have zero concern that something is seriously wrong with him so long as she can keep living in fantasy land with Jason. THIS IS NOT MY LIZ.

I swear, I don’t care what the new writing team has to do to get her out of this — make the last four months a dream, invasion of alien impostors, more of Helena’s brainwashing, whatever — just get her out of this and bring back the flawed but human and semi-sane character I love. I am begging now.

26 thoughts on “Another day, another reason not to care.

  1. I was gonna comment on this show but seriously when you have a great character like Elizabeth acting the fool then what is left to be said. Well if the characters Morgan & denise/ava are it then GH is freaking doomed cause they suck. I wanted to care about Silas being killed but found that I didn’t. Thanks GH writers, producers, directors etc. for making me not care-

  2. It’s sad I care more about Silas’ exit than Luke’s.

    Liz, Nik, they need to have taken crazy potion. And the writers have to let Robin out of limbo, stat.

  3. i will be sad to see him go, I don’t watch the show, at the moment…I might this week, we shall wait and see….but, at the moment I don’t care….they could have done so much with the great actor micheal Easton….but they’re idiots…and they chose not to…

    I don’t want to see morgan doing you know what to his girlfriend’s mama…and so many more stories that are going right now…

    susan

  4. I’ll join you in the begging. Ill even take another mask. And “get her out of it” quick. Ok, I’m only catching an ep every week or two but I have absolutely no desire to watch Liz become the town pariah.
    I will never understand this shows treatment of fan favorites.

  5. I cannot STAND what they’re doing to Liz. It makes no sense and I will accept any explanation to get her out of this. Her character always gets the short end of the stick–come on, new writers!

  6. I will never understand this shows treatment of fan favorites.

    I so don’t get it either…it’s like they’re punishing us because they wanted to get rid of her, and we didn’t…..

    susan

    yeah new writers let’s have liz get a story once and for all…..

  7. First Kelly Thiebaud, then Finola Hughes in some kind of limbo, now Michael Easton. Next to go…me, as a viewer…I’m done. I need a McBain hug and a nap. Let me know if any of those three find their way back.
    Jen

      • My point is she’s not on my screen. Those were the performers I most enjoyed. I had held out hope they might find a way to pair Hughes and Easton after their respective romances went sideways (I was a big Sam/John/ Silas fan and Duke = Anna) but that is not going to happen now. The characterizations and stories are so chaotic and jarring there is little reward for viewer investment. I can suspend disbelief for a coherent storyline, but I’m not willing to forget what I saw a month ago because it is now inconvenient for the new storyline direction. In spite of it all I continued to watch for actors I enjoyed and in the naive hope Carlivati might get his early mojo back. That didn’t happen, and Easton leaving was the proverbial straw. There is no draw left and I can’t hate watch.

  8. I know that I’m not supposed to post spoilers…but….anna is on her way back they had to give FH time off because she was doing a movie…

    I kind of liked nick and what’s her face…so I wish they’d bring her back….and me and ME….well…..the show won’t be the same with out him…but hey maybe days will get their brain back and we can have tanner scofield again…that would be so awesome…….that would definitely get me to watch the show again..

    and her and brad were so funny together as best weirded out friends….

    susan

  9. I cry over what they have done to my Liz. This whole lie makes no sense! You have Liz expressing how guilty she felt about the 24 hour Danny lie, beating herself up and saying how she betrayed Jason. Then you have her going on for weeks to Ric about honesty and how important it is to her, and she wouldn’t put up with any lies. Then she turns around and keeps this secret? Liz made many mistakes but she was never a selfish person. She has always tried to protect those she loves, even at her own expense. What has happened to the Liz I knew and loved?

  10. I find it interesting how people are so upset w/Elizabeth and want Anna, Britt and others back, yet Anna left right after Shooting a man while she was having a conversation with him, and Britt lied about pregnancy to get a man, then actually Stole someone’s embryo, carried and delivered the baby, kept it while she lived with and became engaged to Nic with the child in their home. Not until her secret was outed did she finally admit to this. Nic is hated for “stealing” ELQ, when his real secret is calling a hit on Hayden.Luke ordered the blow up of a boat while all his loved ones were on it. Sonny, Sam, even St. Jason have done it all from murder to extortion to hiring kidnappers. Very few people on this show, including the GH Chief of Staff, have NOT committed heinous acts to get revenge, happiness or whatever they thought would make their world better. Where is the outrage? Well, it’s a Soap, so that’s what characters do.

    • I don’t think this is that mysterious. People aren’t outraged over bad things happening; they’re outraged that Liz and Nik are out of character right now. Yes, it’s a soap, but different characters have different personalities, morals, and limits. I’m perfectly capable of liking both villains and heroes if both are interesting, but if the hero starts acting like the villain, I’m going to need a damn good explanation for it, i.e. Luke did those terrible things because he was mentally ill. It was a bad explanation, but no one is pretending Luke in his right mind would be okay with murdering his family. Likewise, I enjoy Britt as a character for who she is, which is the selfish, desperate, deeply messed up child of two insane supervillains. That’s Britt, and that’s fine. That’s not Liz, though. Or it shouldn’t be.

      • SLOW CLAP IT OUT. Thank you! All I ask is that characters have consistent personalities and their actions make sense. There are characters whose behavior is frequently terrible and makes me wince consistently, but I love them anyway and don’t complain about it, because it’s who they are. Maxie is one of those for me. She consistently does horrible things (not murder-level horrible, and I’d call OOC if that happened, but still pretty horrible) and makes absolutely terrible life choices – but this has been consistent in her characterization for over a decade, so it doesn’t bother me. It’s who the character is, love her or hate her.

        Liz’s characterization, however, has been an inconsistent mess going back to 2007 at least, and this might be her worst period yet. The writers are completely destroying everything that makes her character sympathetic and lovable, and creating an unlikable caricature in its place. Becky Herbst is a fantastic actress and deserves so much better than that.

  11. I am upset they have Liz keeping this from Jason. It’s so against everything that Jason and Elizabeth were ever about. But being upset about Nik and his hitman, would be a bit hypocritical of me since I want her to end up with the hitman.

    • I don’t think that’s hypocritical at all. I don’t love that Jason is a hitman, but it makes sense for his character based on his background and post-accident personality. Nothing about Nikolas’ actions for the last few months make sense for him.

  12. SLOW CLAP IT OUT. Thank you! All I ask is that characters have consistent personalities and their actions make sense

    so agreed…

    susan

  13. the sad part is that we’re the only ones that really wanted anna and silas together…..everyone that I talk to elsewhere are actually liking her and Sloane…so I think that we’re doomed, and we’re going to have that pairing after all.
    susan

  14. I wish I could say that I’m upset that Silas went to the great beyond but I’m not. And I have a feeling this whole “Who Killed Silas Clay” is either going to turn out to be Stephan Clay or someone who is not on the canvas. I’m hoping this will lead to a mass exodus of characters including Franco, Nina, Ava, Julian, Kiki, Rosalie, and Madeline. Seriously does anyone care or remember that Rosalie has a secret?

  15. if Julian goes then I know a whole bunch of people that will stop watching the show…one is only watching it on julexis days….so….they’ll make a huge mistake if they get rid of him….they really would…the others no one really cares about….but Julian…..not a chance…

    susan

  16. LAURA: Look, you believed that little Jake was dead. For many, many years, you mourned him. You know about that ache that never ever goes away. And the feeling you had when found out he was alive — don’t you want that for Monica too?
    ELIZABETH: It isn’t the same thing.
    LAURA: It is exactly the same thing!

    I’m kind of glad that I didn’t hear that line……um monica had a lot more years with Jason then liz did with jake…..and she has the audacity to say something like that……how stupid…

    yes….silas and anna I bet would have rocked the show….and that’s what people want to see mature couples……and I don’t mean a mature woman boinking her child’s boyfriend….and former husband….

    I don’t remember that Rosalie has a secret, nor do I care at this point….

    susan

  17. GH had a well written soapy drama with Liz, Jake, Sam, Patrick, Cam, Emma, Jake, Monica, Sonny, Carly, etc… that should have played out for years and years to come and instead we get Liz being BSC and the stupid lie. We Liason or Liz fans can not catch a break!

  18. I cannot STAND what they’re doing to Liz. It makes no sense and I will accept any explanation to get her out of this. Her character always gets the short end of the stick–come on, new writers!

    I agree…and that’s what I was hoping for….Easton and hughes would have been the couple to beat

    I wasn’t home to watch luke’s last eppy…but I watched it on the computer and was greatly disappointed in like you said the sonny/luke show……who cares…he’s a character that I’ve never cared about, and that the show is going to revolve around him again……doesn’t make me want to keep on watching….

    say what you will, but rc actually had a well rounded cast, and not the same old boring as all get out characters who have been there, done all that before, but some fresh, and some old….and that’s what we need….

    I don’t know if he wasn’t allowed to not continue to write for them, or what……and that we’re never going to know….but..

    susan

Leave a Reply

