First of all, how dare you.

If you’re wondering about that sound you heard the other day, it was the last piece of my soul dying when Michael introduced himself as “Michael Corinthos.”

But no one can escape the mob these days! Not even Milo, who we’re casually told flunked out of that boring old civilian life. Well, I’m sure Epiphany won’t mind dating a low level flunky for the same organization that got her only son killed! Good luck to those crazy star-crossed kids.

Sonny hospital

Meanwhile, Maurice Bernard gave a fascinating interview, in which he opined on the subject of the oppressive manpain our poor heroic Don must endure every day of his terrible, horrible, no good life of… incredible wealth, loving family, and the slavish devotion of an entire town:

DC: I see a lot of fans on social media saying Sonny never pays for his crimes. Do you think the sins of the father are being visited on the sons?
MB: Well, I think the Sonny haters feel like he’s never paid for his crimes, but the truth is I’ve played his pain for 22 years. If he goes to prison for 10 years then that means I’ve left the show. We have to remember it is a soap opera. I can only play and live with the pain of the character and hope that I can convey the torture he’s been through.

I think I can speak for all of the “haters” with this reaction:

Lucille eyeroll

How about this, Maurice? Instead of sending Sonny off to prison for 10 years, we just let him suffer the natural consequences of his actions for more than five minutes. Like — and I know this sounds crazy — what if Michael stayed mad about AJ? And he took Avery away for her own protection? And changed his name to Quartermaine?

OH WAIT.

I hate this effing show sometimes. I really do.

7 thoughts on “First of all, how dare you.

  1. lol…

    i’ve been callling it sonny’s hospital for years

    so don’t care at all about him

    the rest is ok…..just not him…..so totally boring as all get out

    susan

  2. I’m exhausted by the character of Sonny. If that makes me “hater”, I can live with that. I don’t think I’ve noticed anyone saying Sonny has to go to prison for a decade (wouldn’t hurt, but we know the show wants to keep the character), but some real consequences would be nice.

    For instance, I was actually okay with Sonny spending a few months in prison and getting out due to some hokey excuse (I’ll even overlook the fact that Sonny was praised and rewarded for something Michael pulled the heavy lifting with and received no thanks, but whatevs), b/c he had never paid for anything before. Sonny just did not go to jail. Under Guza, that was fact. What I was looking forward to was the continued animosity Michael held for Sonny. Him taking Avery was perfection. Sonny murdering A.J. was, imo, a reset of a character who got away with so much over the years, finally having to suffer true consequences for the path he chose. Having an abusive stepfather while growing up was no longer a viable excuse. His children and love interests being hurt didn’t accomplish that, b/c in the end, THEY suffered those consequences and not SONNY. He just felt bad. Now, Michael is back on that Sonny train, with Sonny having to work for Michael to have even a modicum of civility towards him.

    Also, I feel there is a disconnect when MB speaks about how the mob is part of the show’s history. While true, that’s such a surface answer. I didn’t start watching until the 90’s, so correct me if I’m wrong, but the mob, especially under Claire Labine’s era was always an elusive part of GH. It existed and had plenty of story, but there was a lot mystery surrounding it that still made the mobsters likable. It wasn’t in your face and made the entire focus of the show. Claire Labine’s writing was the best for Sonny b/c it gave him a backstory and made him human. She gave him layers and I LOVED that. Even when Mac or the Quartermaines would speak ill of Sonny, I would want to defend him, even though I loved them, b/c I didn’t KNOW for sure that Sonny actually did these things. It was eluded to, but it wasn’t like how it eventually became. I don’t discount how he was with Karen, but I still saw some good in him after that.

    Now, in the past month, it’s been heavily alluded to that the only family on this show that truly matters is the Corinthos family. It’s all mob all the time, with sprinkles of other little things thrown in. That is not balance. I blame Guza for that b/c he set the tone and drove it into the ground. I’m not going to completely know him, b/c when Guza was good, it was AMAZING, but down the line he burned out. Also, Labine wrote Sonny as a human. Guza wrote Sonny as a god. It had been a problem for most of the 2000’s by this time, but I saw this show take a truly wrong turn with the mob when Sonny was shown murdering Karpov for something he didn’t do and blatantly starting a mob war. I hadn’t seen this character do anything like that before and I couldn’t bring myself to root for him, even a little. When RC came along, it just went off the rails. For all the good writing the show had with him, the mob was one of the things he just did not write well, imo.

    That said, it’s still to early to tell with the new head writers, but my goodness, would it hurt for people to truly start being honest about this show?

    Sorry to go on and on, but I just needed to say this. It’s so easy to dismiss people who are tired as haters, instead of admitting that they have valid opinions. There may be disagreement, but they’re valid. I was a fan. I’m not anymore. It takes a LOT (of nothing good) to accomplish that for me.

    • i so totally agree with that…

      the more i see sonny, the more i can’t stand him..

      i so need along rest from him…if not for the rest of the show….that would be even nicer

      but hey, he’s been around 25 years…so he’s totally not going anywhere.

      that’s kind of why i enjoyed rc’s writing…..that he wasn’t using him all the time

      and guess what i don’t buy it one bit that the ratings went down because he wasn’t being used.

      susan

  3. Sorry to go on and on, but I just needed to say this. It’s so easy to dismiss people who are tired as haters, instead of admitting that they have valid opinions. There may be disagreement, but they’re valid. I was a fan. I’m not anymore. It takes a LOT (of nothing good) to accomplish that for me.

    not at all, on one board that i belong to, someone is well you complain too much, just what do you like, exactly……so i totally get what you’re saying

    susan

  4. It existed and had plenty of story, but there was a lot mystery surrounding it that still made the mobsters likable. It wasn’t in your face and made the entire focus of the show. Claire Labine’s writing was the best for Sonny b/c it gave him a backstory and made him human. She gave him layers and I LOVED that. Even when Mac or the Quartermaines would speak ill of Sonny, I would want to defend him, even though I loved them, b/c I didn’t KNOW for sure that Sonny actually did these things. It was eluded to, but it wasn’t like how it eventually became. I don’t discount how he was with Karen, but I still saw some good in him after that.

    i never thought that he came on as a good person….the first time i saw him he had karen working for him and got her hooked on drugs, and all that kind of stuff…so no….she didn’t bring him on as good…..

    it was the next set of writers who started to reform him…..get him out of the drug trade, make him the likeable one next to julian, and all that kind of stuff…..julian’s father was supposed to be the baddie…and that kind of thing..

    so no, as far as i’m concerned, sonny has never been a good, really good person, to me he’s always been bad

    i began watching in 82….and i have seen mobsters come and go, and you know what, i have always felt for duke, because he was forced into the mob, he actually wanted out, and he got out…it was only him coming back 16 or so years later that they made him bad again….

    julian was good, he was the one that didn’t really want the mob, that was his sister olivia, she wanted the mob…..julian had a life of his own, but his dad victor always wanted him to inherit the mob….and duke i think worked for him.

    then there was mr big…he was burt ramsey..the chief of police, until robert figured it all out, and brought him down

    there were others, in the mob, and they came and went…..

    but sonny never went…oh he did for awhile, because MB was looking for other work…but, he came back, and hasn’t left since….

    the mob family in the aisian quarter they went….they were under clair’s writing i beleive….but the minute that guza took over, it became sonny’s show…and nothing else mattered….

    so…

    susan

  5. if this was a british show….then sonny would remain paralysed….forever…either that or he’d be dead, real dead……lol

    susan

  6. Feel the torture! as Sonny says, “are we still harpin’ about me [shooting you in the chest/blowing you up/threatening to kill you/killing your fat father/cheating on you/sleeping with your old lady girlfriend?]”

Leave a Reply

