That’s nice. Can he get a plot this time?

Huh. I’m not sure how I feel about this latest casting news: Scott Reeves has been tapped to take over the role of Steven Lars Webber.

You remember Steven, right? Elizabeth’s half-brother, last seen mixed up with crazy Rachel Adair, sort of pursuing Carly, collaborating with Corbin Bernsen–er, John Durant, and… disappearing without a trace when the writers couldn’t figure out what to do with him?

Well, apparently, he’ll be returning to Port Charles as the new Chief of Staff. This quote, in particular, makes me laugh:

Says Reeves: “I was checking out my genealogy on GH and found out that my character’s father was played by Richard Dean Anderson.”

Congratulations, Mister Reeves! You now officially know more about your character’s history that most of the writing staff.

Questions I have about this development:

– Um, why do we need a new Chief of Staff? Why did I assume Monica has been doing that job since Dr. “I’ve Acted On Deadwood And Ought To Be Better Than This” Ford kicked the bucket over on the Nightshift? And if not Monica, then who exactly has been Chief of Staff all this time?

Maybe I’m overreacting, but we are coming up on November Sweeps (which, as we all know, is the official Quartermaine hunting season). IT MAKES ME NERVOUS.

– Do the writers actually have a story in mind this time, or will they continue their time-tested approach of completely wasting every opportunity to do something interesting with one of Liz’s siblings?

– What kind of rough living has poor Steven been doing in the last fours years that could have caused him to go from looking like Shaun Benson to Scott Reeves?

Before and After

ENQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW.

Leave a comment